Eggs three ways.

April 9, 2010 at 12:25 am | Posted in Cooking | Leave a comment

I eat a lot of eggs.  For a while I was seriously considering getting a tattoo of a fried egg on my ankle to match Wylie Dufresne’s.  I love the endless variations there are to cook an egg.  And maybe someday when I own land, I’ll be able to raise chickens, and eat fresh eggs every day!  But until that day, I’ll settle with cooking all the delicious permutations of the noble egg.

This was a delicious impromptu dinner at my friend Ji Hye’s house.  Noodles with Korean Chili Sauce, various pickles, and a hard-boiled egg.   Now this is a woman who knows her eggs.  She can soft boil an egg that is so good it will make you feel dirty.  I should mention that it helps that she’s using my coworker Marshall’s eggs.  The chickens get to eat the seeds that fall to the bottom of the bagel case at the Deli.  His chicken’s eggs are rich and delicious.

This is the delicious Easter dinner I made when I was home last weekend.  We had grilled salmon, braised carrots, and sautéed asparagus with a single poached egg on top.  What I love about poached eggs is that you can make a slew of them ahead of time, leave them in chilled water, and when the big moment comes whip them out.  And poof! you’re a genius.

And long at last, we have Oefs en Cocette.  A snobby sounding name for one of the easiest breakfasts to make.  I made these when my friend Sarah came over last week.  We had oefs en cocette, with toasted brioche, smoked salmon, and sauteed bok choy.  It was lovely.

If you dig eggs, you should check out this wonderful book by Michel Roux:

My boyfriend gave it to me for Christmas last year.  He wrote a sweet note in the cover that I just loved, “When you are feeling scrambled, or fried, or hard-boiled, look at this book and remember that to me you are always sunny side up.”  Awww.

Cheers and happy scrambling,

Katie

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

