Keilbasa-Lentil-Kale Soup

April 8, 2010 at 11:42 pm | Posted in Cooking | Leave a comment

A few days ago I looked in the fridge and lo and behold, I found a bunch of kale from the farmers market two weeks ago.  It was looking a bit worse for the wear, I could swear I heard it begging to be reincarnated in to some sort of delicious creation.  So last night on the way home from work I stopped at Copernicus Deli (our local Polish grocery store) and picked up a homemade smoked kielbasa.  The two foot long monstrosity was $2.49.  Wow.

I also happened to have really great Italian lentils that we sell at the deli.  About a year ago I was doing a stock run in the depths of the deli basement and I heard the most beautiful sound in the world.  The sound of dried lentils falling on to a solid concrete floor.  One of the bags had sprung a leak, and so my manager told me to take the salvaged bag home and play with the lentils.  I didn’t want to waste the lentils on anything silly, so they sat in my pantry collecting dust for a while.  Last week when I was cleaning my pantry I resolved to use the lentils as soon as possible.

So there I was, sitting in my kitchen with a massive kielbasa, a bunch of wilted kale, and a pint container full of scavenged of lentils. Oh, and it was a miserable cold rainy gray day.  Fine, soup it is.

And here’s the recipe.  Adapted from a 90’s issue of gourmet I found on epicurious.

  • 1 8″ piece smoked kielbasa, sliced thin
  • 2 garlic cloves, minced
  • 1 small onion, sliced thin
  • 2 carrots cubed
  • 2 potatoes cubed
  • 1/2 cup lentils, picked over
  • 1 1/2 cups water
  • 1 1/2 cups chicken broth
  • 1/2 small bunch kale, stems and center ribs discarded and leaves sliced thin (about 2 cups)
  • 1 tablespoon balsamic or red-wine vinegar
Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

