This must be how new parents feel.

March 28, 2010 at 3:55 am | Posted in Gardening | Leave a comment

Yesterday morning I had the most wonderful surprise.

After a lovely breakfast with Heli at Selma Fridays, I went home to turnover the dirt in my teeny garden before planting radishes.  Imagine my delight when I found 16 chubby carrots hiding in the ground.  I had given up hope on the carrots last fall, when, after a full summer of growth, they were still smaller than my pinkie.  So I learned by total accident, that wintering over your carrots results in big sweet carrots come spring.  And next fall I fully intend to plant my whole bed full of carrots so that the fallowing spring I’ll be able to reap the rewards!

I don’t care if they are blemished and wonky, to me they are beautiful.

After my great discovery, I planted mustard greens, kale, radishes, beets, and more carrots!  In another couple weeks I will plant the pole beans and lettuces.  What joy!

Cheers and happy planting,

Katie

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

