Good Morning

January 30, 2010 at 4:51 pm | Posted in Cooking | Leave a comment

Hello People,

This morning I have not a hot cup of coffee, but a cup of warm chicken broth in my favorite yellow mug.  I can’t think of a better way to start a day off.

I woke up at eight this morning to check on the chicken I had left to thaw in a bowl of water.  The goal was to chunk the bird up into eight pieces for a Sunday night fried chicken.  But even segmenting a whole chicken leaves waste.  I was left with the entire backbone, wing tips, and giblets.  As I walked to the trashcan, I had a better idea.

In the past when I’ve made stock, its been an ordeal.  But this time, I followed Micheal Ruhlman’s recipe for everyday chicken stock out of his newest book “Ratio.”  The recipe calls for one part carcass to three parts water (I guestimated), an onion, and a few carrots.  The onion you quarter with the skin on -the skin gives the stock a richer color.  I covered the pot and let it simmer for a couple hours, throwing in gray sea salt until it tasted delicious.  And so, the garbage-bound chicken scraps, onion, and handful of stolen baby carrots from my housemate, turned themselves into a rich, fatty, delicious homemade chicken stock.

The dissected chicken is taking a 32 hour bath in Calder Dairy buttermilk.  Tomorrow night it will meet its tasty end, as its flour dredged skin fries itself into crispy deliciousness abed a cast iron pan full of peanut oil.

Cheers, Katie

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

